Valeria Nascimento — Ceramics or Fabric?

Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 7.20.59 PM


Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 7.21.16 PM


Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 7.21.30 PM


Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 7.21.50 PM


Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 7.21.58 PM

Valeria Nascimento is a ceramic artist who focuses on the detail of her pieces. She draws her inspiration from the world that surrounds us, the energy of the world, and from nature. I was incredibly awed by the fine detail work in her pieces, and I was surprised to find out that these pieces were even ceramic at all! They have a fabric feel to them, almost as if the folds were cloth, or paper, and definitely not made of clay. Her pieces have lots of movement and I feel that the audience’s eyes are drawn to certain areas of her pieces. Her work reminds me of chocolate curls that one would find on a fancy and beautiful cake, which helps me to mold both forms of art into one. The techniques that are used in order to create such delicate little folds can be reminiscent of those from other art forms and I plan on mixing different aspects of different areas of art into my project as well. I do not know how successful I will be in doing so, but I will definitely try.
Leave a Reply

